Scones

This is a recipe I have made many times before. It is a fairly easy recipe and it came from allrecipes.com. I love making scone because they are like a blank canvas, once you make the scone dough you can add whatever your heart desires to it. This recipe makes 8-16 serving depending on what size you want the scones to be. This recipe takes only 30 minutes to be done and ready to eat. 

Ingredients: 

  • 3 cups of all-purpose flour. 
  • ½ cup of white sugar 
  • 5 tsp of baking powder. 
  • ½ tsp of salt. 
  • ¾ cup of unsalted butter. 
  • 1 egg, beaten. 
  • 1 cup of milk. 

Directions: 

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Lightly grease baking sheet. 
  2. In a large bowl combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. (I did not have enough white sugar, so I used half white sugar half raw granulated sugar. I put the raw sugar in a bag and hammered it down to a good consistency, and I worked great! Sometimes in baking you just must work with what you got!).
  3. Cut in butter (if you don’t know what cutting in butter is read my page baking dictionary to find out!). 
  4. Mix the egg and milk in a small bowl and or into the dry mix.
  5. Stir into flour mixture until moistened. 
  6. Turn dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead briefly. 
  7. (Optional) add whatever you like to the dough. I added chocolate chips! 
  8. Roll dough out into a ½ inch thick round. Cut into 8-16 wedges (depending on what size you want), and place on prepared baking sheet. 
  9. Bake 15 minutes in the oven, or until golden brown. 
  10. Let cool for 5 minutes and enjoy! 

 

2 thoughts on “Scones

  1. I love scones!! I will definitely try this recipe. i have tried other scone recipes and they all turned out SO dry!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *