Corn Bread

This Recipe makes 10-12 servings.

The warm smell of corn bread filled the air and I got instantly excited. I cut myself a piece and it crumbled at the sides. Corn bread is one of my favorite southern classics. Most people when they think about baking their mind automatically thinks about sweets. But baking doesn’t always have to be sweet, a lot of baked goods are also savory. My grandmother taught this recipe to me. She usually makes it every year for thanksgiving, but this year she was making too many things so she wouldn’t be able to make it. I was not about to have that so I made it this year instead. This corn bread recipe is amazing, it takes traditional corn bread and brings it up a few notches. 

 Ingredients:  

  • 3 slightly beaten eggs .
  • ¾ cup of cottage cheese (I will admit when I saw this ingredient, I was a little skeptical, but it turned out to work very well in the corn bread!) .
  • 2 oz of cream cheese, softened .
  • ½ cup of salted butter, melted .
  • 8 oz of packaged corn bread (or corn muffin) mix .
  • 1 ¼ cups of milk .

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. 
  2. Combine eggs, cottage cheese and cream cheese; set aside. 
  3. Brush bottom of 12 by 7 ½ by 2 inch baking dish with 1 tbsp of the melted butter. 
  4. Sprinkle ½ cup of the dry corn bread mix in the baking dish. 
  5. Drizzle with 3 tbsp of the milk. 
  6. Spoon ½ cup of the cheese mixture over all. 
  7. Drizzle with 1 tbsp more of the melted butter. 
  8. Repeat layers 2 more times using all of the cheese mixture. 
  9. Then continue layering with the ½ dry corn bread mix, 3 tbsp of milk, and 1 tbsp of melted butter until all the ingredients have been used (I was through all of my ingredients before all of the milk was used and it turned out fine, you may not have to use all of the milk.) 
  10. Bake in 350 degree oven for 30-35 minutes or till golden. 

One thought on “Corn Bread

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *