Red Velvet Chocolate Chip Cookies

As I was trying to figure out what recipe should I write about for my blog post I was trying to think about what some of my favorite desserts are. I thought of red velvet cupcakes (because I just love them so much!) but I wanted to save cupcakes for another time. I also thought about chocolate chip cookies, but I wanted to be more creative than that. Then it hit me what about red velvet chocolate chip cookies? I tried out this recipe and got good reviews from people who tried the final product. Anyways me and my family enjoyed these cookies very much and I hope you will to! 

Ingredients: 

  • 1 and ½ cups+1 tbsp of all-purpose flour 
  • ¼ cup of natural unsweetened cocoa powder 
  • 1 tsp of baking soda 
  • ¼ tsp of salt 
  • ½ cup of unsalted butter, softened to room temperature 
  • ¾ packed cup of light brown sugar 
  • ¼ cup of granulated sugar 
  • 1 large egg at room temperature 
  • 1 tbsp of milk 
  • 2 tsp of vanilla extract 
  • 1 tbsp of red food coloring (liquid, gel, or 2 tsp of beet powder alternative*) 
  •  1 cup of milk chocolate chips 

 

Directions: 

  1. Whisk the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt together in a medium sized bowl and set aside for later. 
  2.  In a separate bowl using a handheld or a stand mixer beat the butter on high speed until creamy (about 1 minute) scrape down the sides of the bowl as needed. 
  3. Beat in Brown sugar and granulated sugar into the butter until creamy (about 1 minute) scrape down the sides of the bowl as needed. 
  4. Beat in eggs, milk, and vanilla extract. 
  5. Once mixed, add the food coloring (liquid, gel or beet powder) beat until combined. 
  6. Turn off the mixer and pour the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients. 
  7. On low speed beat in the chocolate chips. The dough will be sticky. 
  8. Cover the dough with foil or plastic wrap and put it in the fridge to chill for at least 1 hour. Chilling is mandatory. 
  9. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper. 
  10. Scoop 1.5 tsp of dough and roll it into a ball. Place 9 balls onto a baking sheet and cook for 11-13 minutes. 
  11. Allow the cookies to cool for 5 minutes before transferring them into a container to store. 

7 thoughts on “Red Velvet Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *